Reading/Commenting Schedule for

4th Annual 90 Day Study:

 The Classics that Inspired Our Constitution and the Challenges Our Constitution Faces Today

 All Assigned Readings Are Available Online, Through Hillsdale College’s The U.S. Constitution: A Reader

 

Sunday, February 17 – Read The Declaration of Independence

 

Day 1 – Monday, February 18 – Comment on The Declaration of Independence Introductory Essay by Dr. David Bobb; Read The Declaration of Independence again

 

Day 2 – Tuesday, February 19 – Comment on The Declaration of Independence Essay, Part II by Dr. William B. Allen; Read Letter to Henry Lee by Thomas Jefferson

 

Day 3 – Wednesday, February 20 – Comment on Letter to Henry Lee by Thomas Jefferson Essay (by Bill Duncan); Read Nicomachean Ethics by Aristotle

 

Day 4 – Thursday, February 21- Comment on Nicomachean Ethics by Aristotle Essay (by Tony Williams); Read The Politics by Aristotle

 

Day 5 – Friday, February 22 – Comment on The Politics Essay by Aristotle (by Dr. Kyle Scott); Read On The Commonwealth by Marcus Tullius Cicero

 

Day 6 – Monday, February 25 – Comment On the Commonwealth by Marcus Tullius Cicero Essay (by Bob Pence); Read The Second Treatise of Government by John Locke

 

Day 7 – Tuesday, February 26 – Comment on The Second Treatise of Government by John Locke Essay (by Erick Mack); Read Discourses Concerning Government by Algernon Sidney

 

Day 8 – Wednesday, February 27 – Comment on Discourses Concerning Government by Algernon Sidney Essay (by Professor Joerg Knipprath); Read The Constitution of the United States of America

 

Day 9 – Thursday, February 28 – Comment on The Constitution of the United States of America Essay by Tony Williams; Read Marbury v. Madison by John Marshall

 

Day 10 – Friday, March 1 – Comment on Marbury v. Madison Essay by Steve Aden; Read Fragment on the Constitution and the Union by Abraham Lincoln

 

Day 11 – Monday, March 4 – Comment on Fragment on the Constitution and the Union by Abraham Lincoln Essay; Read Rights of the British Colonies Asserted and Proved by James Otis

 

Day 12 – Tuesday, March 5 – Comment on Rights of the British Colonies Asserted and Proved by James Otis Essay (by Joerg Knipprath); Read A Summary View of the Rights of British America by Thomas Jefferson

 

Day 13 – Wednesday March 6 – Comment on A Summary View of the Rights of British America by Thomas Jefferson Essay (by Joerg Knipprath); Read An Election Sermon by Gad Hitchcock

 

Day 14 – Thursday, March 7 – Comment on An Election Sermon by Gad Hitchcock Essay (by Jim Best); Read The Farmer Refuted by Alexander Hamilton

 

Day 15 – Friday, March 8 – Comment on The Farmer Refuted by Alexander Hamilton Essay (by Joerg Knipprath); Read Common Sense by Thomas Paine

 

Day 16 – Monday, March 11 – Comment on Common Sense by Thomas Paine Essay (by Scott Faulkner); Read Letter to Roger Weightman by Thomas Jefferson

 

Day 17 – Tuesday, March 12 – Comment on Letter to Roger Weightman by Thomas Jefferson Essay (by Scott Faulkner); Read Virginia Declaration of Rights by George Mason

 

Day 18 – Wednesday, March 13 – Comment on Virginia Declaration of Rights by George Mason Essay (by Kevin Gutzman); Read Fast Day Proclamation of the Continental Congress

 

Day 19 – Thursday, March 14 – Comment on Fast Day Proclamation of the Continental Congress Essay (by George Landrith); Read The Northwest Ordinance

 

Day 20 – Friday, March 15 – Comment on The Northwest Ordinance Essay (by Allison Hayward); Read Memorial and Remonstrance against Religious Assessments by James Madison

 

Day 21 – Monday, March 18 – Comment on Memorial and Remonstrance against Religious Assessments by James Madison Essay (by Justin Butterfield); Read Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom by Thomas Jefferson

 

Day 22 – Tuesday, March 19 – Comment on Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom Essay) by Thomas Jefferson Essay (by Gennie Westbrook) ; Read Letter to Hebrew Congregation by George Washington

 

Day 23 – Wednesday, March 20 – Comment on Letter to Hebrew Congregation by George Washington Essay (by Robert Clinton); Read Farewell Address by George Washington

 

Day 24 – Thursday, March 21 – Comment on Farewell Address by George Washington Essay (by Justin Butterfield); Read Letter to the Danbury Baptist Association by Thomas Jefferson

 

Day 25 – Friday, March 22 – Comment on Letter to the Danbury Baptist Association by Thomas Jefferson Essay; Read On Property by James Madison

 

Day 26 – Monday, March 25 – Comment on On Property by James Madison; Read The Articles of Confederation

 

Day 27 – Tuesday, March 26 – Comment on The Articles of Confederation; Read The Articles of Confederation again

 

Day 28 – Wednesday, March 27 – Comment on The Articles of Confederation; Read Circular Letter to the States by George Washington

Day 29 – Thursday, March 28 – Comment on Circular Letter to the States by George Washington; Read Letter to John Jay by George Washington

 

Day 30 – Friday, March 29 – Comment on Letter to John Jay by George Washington; Read Letter to James Madison by George Washington

 

Day 31 – Monday, April 1 – Comment on Letter to James Madison by George Washington Essay (by Bill Duncan); Read Notes on the State of Virginia Query XIII: Constitution by Thomas Jefferson

 

Day 32 – Tuesday, April 2 – Comment on Notes on the State of Virginia Query XIII: Constitution by Thomas Jefferson; Read Vices of the Political System of the United States by James Madison

 

Day 33 – Wednesday, April 3 – Comment on Vices of the Political System of the United States by James Madison Essay (by Kevin Gutzman); Read Letter Transmitting the Constitution by George Washington

 

Day 34 – Thursday, April 4 – Comment on Letter Transmitting the Constitution by George Washington; Read Essay I by Brutus

 

Day 35 – Friday, April 5 – Comment on Essay I by Brutus  (Essayist Bob Pence); Read Letters I and II by Federal Farmer

 

Day 36 – Monday, April 8 – Comment on Letter I and II by Federal Farmer; Read Essay XI by Brutus

 

Day 37 – Tuesday, April 9 – Comment on Essay XI by Brutus; Read Draft of the Declaration of Independence by Thomas Jefferson

 

Day 38 – Wednesday, April 10 – Comment on Draft of the Declaration of Independence by Thomas Jefferson; Read The Northwest Ordinance – The Founders on Slavery

 

Day 39 – Thursday, April 11 – Comment on The Northwest Ordinance – The Founders on Slavery Essay (by Dr. Kyle Scott); Read George Washington, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton and James Madison on Slavery

 

Day 40 – Friday, April 12 – Comment on George Washington, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton and James Madison on Slavery; Read Notes on the State of Virginia, Query XVIII: Manners by Thomas Jefferson

 

Day 41 – Monday, April 15 – Comment Notes on the State of Virginia, Query XVIII: Manners by Thomas Jefferson; Read Letter to John Jay by Alexander Hamilton

 

Day 42 – Tuesday, April 16 – Comment on Letter to John Jay by Alexander Hamilton; Read Letter to the English Anti-Slavery Society by John Jay

 

Day 43 – Wednesday, April 17 – Comment on Letter to the English Anti-Slavery Society by John Jay; Read Letter to Henri Gregoire by Thomas Jefferson

Day 44 – Thursday, April 18 – Comment on Letter to Henri Gregoire by Thomas Jefferson; Read Speech on Reception of Abolition Petitions by John C. Calhoun

 

Day 45 – Friday, April 19 – Comment on Speech on Reception of Abolition Petitions by John C. Calhoun; Read Speech on the Oregon Bill by John C. Calhoun

 

Day 46 – Monday, April 22 – Comment on Speech on the Oregon Bill by John C. Calhoun; Read Letter to John Holmes by Thomas Jefferson

 

Day 47 – Tuesday, April 23 – Comment on Letter to John Holmes by Thomas Jefferson; Read Letter to Edward Everett by James Madison

 

Day 48 – Wednesday, April 24 – Comment on Letter to Edward Everett by James Madison; Read The Missouri Compromise

 

Day 49 – Thursday, April 25 – Comment on The Missouri Compromise; Read The Wilmot Proviso

 

Day 50 – Friday, April 26 – Comment on The Wilmot Proviso; Read The Constitution and the Union by Daniel Webster

 

Day 51 – Monday, April 29 – Comment on The Constitution and the Union by Daniel Webster; Read Alabama Slave Code of 1852

 

Day 52 – Tuesday, April 30 – Comment on Alabama Slave Code of 1852; Read Speech on the Kansas-Nebraska Act by Abraham Lincoln

 

Day 53 – Wednesday, May 1 – Comment on Speech on the Kansas-Nebraska Act by Abraham Lincoln; Read Republican Party Platform of 1856

 

Day 54 – Thursday, May 2 – Comment on Republican Party Platform of 1856; Read Dred Scott v. Sanford by Justice Roger Taney

 

Day 55 – Friday, May 3 – Comment on Dred Scott v. Sanford by Justice Roger Taney; Read Speech on the Dred Scott Decision by Abraham Lincoln

 

Day 56 – Monday, May 6 – Comment on Speech on the Dred Scott Decision by Abraham Lincoln; Read A House Divided by Abraham Lincoln

 

Day 57 – Tuesday, May 7 – Comment on A House Divided by Abraham Lincoln; Read Speech at Chicago by Stephen Douglas

 

Day 58 – Wednesday, May 8 – Comment on Speech at Chicago by Stephen Douglas; Read Seventh Lincoln-Douglas Debate

 

Day 59 – Thursday, May 9 – Comment Seventh Lincoln-Douglas Debate; Read The Dividing Line between Federal and Local Authority: Popular Sovereignty in the Territories by Stephen Douglas

 

Day 60 – Friday, May 10 – Comment on The Dividing Line between Federal and Local Authority: Popular Sovereignty in the Territories by Stephen Douglas; Read Address at Cooper Institute by Abraham Lincoln

 

Day 61 – Monday, May 13 – Comment on Address at Cooper Institute by Abraham Lincoln; Read Reply in the Senate to William Seward by Jefferson Davis

 

Day 62 – Tuesday, May 14 – Comment on Reply in the Senate to William Seward by Jefferson Davis; Read Reply in the Senate to Stephen Douglas by Jefferson Davis

 

Day 63 – Wednesday, May 15 – Comment on Reply in the Senate to Stephen Douglas by Jefferson Davis; Read

South Carolina Secession Declaration

 

Day 64 – Thursday, May 16 – Comment on South Carolina Secession Declaration; Read Cornerstone Speech by Alexander Stephens

 

Day 65 – Friday, May 17 – Comment on Cornerstone Speech by Alexander Stephens; Read Farewell Address to the Senate by Jefferson Davis

 

Day 66 – Monday, May 20 – Comment on Farewell Address to the Senate by Jefferson Davis; Read First Inaugural Address by Abraham Lincoln

Day 67 – Tuesday, May 21 – Comment on First Inaugural Address by Abraham Lincoln; Read Message to Congress in Special Session by Abraham Lincoln

 

Day 68 – Wednesday, May 22 – Comment on Message to Congress in Special Session by Abraham Lincoln; Read The Emancipation Proclamation by Abraham Lincoln

 

Day 69 – Thursday, May 23 – Comment on The Emancipation Proclamation by Abraham Lincoln; Read Gettysburg Address by Abraham Lincoln

 

Day 70 – Friday, May 24 – Comment on Gettysburg Address by Abraham Lincoln; Read Second Inaugural Address by Abraham Lincoln

 

Day 71 – Monday, May 27 – Comment on Second Inaugural Address by Abraham Lincoln; Read Liberalism and Social Action by John Dewey

 

Day 72 – Tuesday, May 28 – Comment on Liberalism and Social Action by John Dewey; Read The American Conception of Liberty by Frank Goodnow

 

Day 73 – Wednesday, May 29 – Comment on The American Conception of Liberty by Frank Goodnow; Read What is Progress? by Woodrow Wilson

 

Day 74 – Thursday, May 30 – Comment on What is Progress? by Woodrow Wilson (Essayist Robert Clinton); Read Socialism and Democracy by Woodrow Wilson

 

Day 75 – Friday, May 31 – Comment on Socialism and Democracy by Woodrow Wilson; Read The President of the United States by Woodrow Wilson

 

Day 76 – Monday, June 3 – Comment on The President of the United States by Woodrow Wilson; Read The Presidency: Making an Old Party Progressive by Theodore Roosevelt

 

Day 77 – Tuesday, June 4 – Comment on The Presidency: Making an Old Party Progressive by Theodore Roosevelt; Read The Study of Administration by Woodrow Wilson

 

Day 78 – Wednesday, June 5 – Comment on The Study of Administration by Woodrow Wilson; Read The Right of the People to Rule by Theodore Roosevelt

 

Day 79 – Thursday, June 6 – Comment on The Right of the People to Rule by Theodore Roosevelt; Read Progressive Democracy by Herbert Croly

 

Day 80 – Friday, June 7 – Comment on Progressive Democracy by Herbert Croly; Read The Inspiration of the Declaration by Calvin Coolidge

 

Day 81 – Monday, June 10 – Comment on The Inspiration of the Declaration by Calvin Coolidge; Read Commonwealth Club Address by Franklin D. Roosevelt

 

Day 82 – Tuesday, June 11 – Comment on Commonwealth Club Address by Franklin D. Roosevelt; Read Democratic Convention Address by Franklin D. Roosevelt

 

Day 83 – Wednesday, June 12 – Comment on Democratic Convention Address by Franklin D. Roosevelt; Read What Good’s a Constitution by Winston Churchill

 

Day 84 – Thursday, June 13 – Comment on What Good’s a Constitution by Winston Churchill; Read Annual Message to Congress by Franklin D. Roosevelt

 

Day 85 – Friday, June 14 – Comment on Annual Message to Congress by Franklin D. Roosevelt; Read Commencement Address at Yale University by John F. Kennedy

 

Day 86 – Monday, June 17 – Comment on Commencement Address at Yale University by John F. Kennedy; Read Remarks at the University of Michigan by Lyndon B. Johnson

 

Day 87 – Tuesday, June 18 – Comment on Remarks at the University of Michigan by Lyndon B. Johnson; Read Commencement Address at Howard University by Lyndon B. Johnson

 

Day 88 – Wednesday, June 19 – Comment on Commencement Address at Howard University by Lyndon B. Johnson; Read A Time for Choosing by Ronald Reagan

 

Day 89 – Thursday, June 20 – Comment on A Time for Choosing by Ronald Reagan; Read First Inaugural Address by Ronald Reagan

 

Day 90 – Friday, June 21 – Comment on First Inaugural Address by Ronald Reagan

 

2 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *